World Health Organization


The World Health Organization (WHO) is a specialized UN agency headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, focusing on international public health. The WHO is a member of the United Nations Development Group and was founded in 1948 after the abolishment of its predecessor, the Health Organization of the League of Nations. Today, the WHO consists of 194 member states. The WHO’s original Constitution states that its primary objective “is the attainment by all people of the highest possible level of health”. The WHO strives toward this goal through various means, such as providing leadership on critical health matters, shaping research agenda, setting norms and standards for public health, and providing technical support. It also has six main areas of work: health systems, noncommunicable diseases, promoting health through the life-course, communicable diseases, preparedness, surveillance and response, and corporate services.


1.  Climate Change and Health

2. Managing Non-Communicable Diseases in the Developing World

Director: Gabi Coeuille

Assistant Director: Aliyah Petersen

Download BG: World Health Organization

Please contact with any questions or concerns regarding this committee, delegates will also be expected to submit their position papers through the link available on the homepage.

Start typing and press Enter to search