United Nations Security Council

Description: The Security Council (SC) was established in 1945 through the United Nations Charter as one of the six main organs of the United Nations. By mandate, its primary responsibility is to maintain international peace and security. It may meet whenever that peace is threatened. Resolutions passed by the SC are the only ones which are binding and must be carried out by Member-States. The SC generally takes a progressive approach when addressing threats to peace. First, when a complaint is brought before the Council, it will recommend parties try to reach a peaceful agreement. To assist this, the SC may dispatch a special envoy or attempt to mediate between the warring parties. If hostilities continue the Council may attempt to end the conflict as soon as possible by negotiating short-term ceasefires or deploying peacekeeping forces. Beyond this the Council may issue enforcement measures such as economic sanctions, embargoes, or even military action. The SC is composed of 15 members at all times; five permanent members (China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States), each of whom retain the ability to veto and remove a resolution from contention, and ten rotating members.


1. Peace and Security in Central Africa

2. Women and Peace and Security

Director: Scott Jacobsen

Assistant Director: Dominic Zinsli

Download BG: United Nations Security Council

Please contact sc@wasmun.org with any questions or concerns regarding this committee, delegates will also be expected to submit their position papers through the link available on the homepage.

Start typing and press Enter to search