Economic and Social Committee for Asia and the Pacific


Established in 1947 and originally named the Economic Commission for Asia and the Far East (ECAFE), the committee was conceived to assist with the post-war economic reconstruction of Asia. In 1949, it was moved to its permanent headquarters in Bangkok and renamed the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP). This change reflected its mandate to provide results-oriented projects, technical assistance, and capacity building in areas such as transportation, social development, economic policy, energy security and development, and disaster preparedness. Today, ESCAP is composed of 53 full Member-States and nine associate Member-States. In recent years, ESCAP has provided a forum for its members to promote regional cooperation and collective action in pursuit of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Sustainable Development Goals. It has also strengthened its commitment to making the Asia-Pacific a more socially inclusive region.


1. Enhancing Regional Economic Cooperation and Integration in Asia and the Pacific

2. Building Resilience to Natural Disasters

Director: Jacqueline Lu

Assistant Director: Andrew Chhor

Chair: Rose Schoenfeld

Download BG: Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Please contact with any questions or concerns regarding this committee, delegates will also be expected to submit their position papers through the link available on the homepage.

Start typing and press Enter to search