General Assembly Third Committee

Difficulty: Easy

The General Assembly Third Committee (GA3) deals with agenda items relating to a range of social and humanitarian issues. The Committee discusses a wide range of topics including the advancement of women, the protection of children, and the treatment of refugees.

Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific

Difficulty: Easy to Medium

The Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) is one of the UN’s five regional committees. It focuses on the development of the Asia-Pacific region and helps to promote greater regional cooperation in areas such as trade, social development, macroeconomic policy, poverty reduction, and disaster preparedness.

United Nations Human Rights Council

Difficulty: Easy to Medium

The United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) is an intergovernmental body responsible with promoting and protecting human rights in the global community. The UNHRC has the ability to discuss all thematic human rights issues and addressing situations of human rights violations.

World Health Organization

Difficulty: Medium

The World Health Organization (WHO) is a specialized UN agency headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, focusing on international public health. Their primary mandate is “the attainment by all people of the highest possible level of health.” WHO strives toward this goal through various means, such as shaping research agendas and setting norms and standards for public health.

Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space

Diffculty: Medium

The Committee on the Peaceful Use of Outer Space (COPUOS) is responsible for promoting international cooperation in the peaceful uses and exploration of outer space and in the utilisation of space science and technology for sustainable economic and social development.

United Nations Security Council

Difficulty: Hard

The Security Council (SC) was established in 1945 through the United Nations Charter as one of the six main organs of the UN. By mandate, its primary responsibility is to maintain international peace and security. It may meet whenever that peace is threatened. Resolutions passed by the SC are the only ones which are binding and must be carried out by Member-States.

International Court of Justice

Difficulty: Hard

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the UN. It was established in 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations. Composed of 15 judges, the Court’s role is to settle legal disputes and give advisory legal opinions regarding cases submitted by Member-States, in accordance with international law.

Start typing and press Enter to search