Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space


The Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS) was originally created in 1959 as an ad hoc committee, with General Assembly Resolution 1472 formally establishing it as a committee in the same year. The focus of COPUOS was “reviewing international cooperation in peaceful uses of outer space, studying space-related activities that could be undertaken by the United Nations, encouraging space research programmes, and studying legal problems arising from the exploration of outer space to promote cooperation in the peaceful use of outer space and the exchange of information regarding outer space and its exploration”. COPUOS is currently composed of 84 Member States and a number of other international organizations. With rapid advances in space technologies, the agenda of COPUOS is constantly evolving and provides the global community with a unique platform within the UN to discuss space-related issues in the international community.


1. The Long-Term Sustainable Development of Outer Space

2. Space Debris and Space Traffic Management

Director: Jakub Filipek

Assistant Director: Susie Zhang

Chair: Mckayla Buckley

Download BG: COPUOS Background Guide

Please contact with any questions or concerns regarding this committee, delegates will also be expected to submit their position papers through the link available on the homepage.

Start typing and press Enter to search